SOL #11: Yikes, I don’t know her name!

Every day I sit in our teacher lunchroom and enjoy a few minutes with colleagues while I eat my lunch. Lately lunch has been great! I have been having new conversations with two lovely ladies who are EdTechs at our school. Their schedule changed and for the last few months they join us for lunch. There’s just one problem, I don’t know their names.

It is my first year at this school, but it’s March, I can’t really play the “I’m new here” card anymore. For a week or so I listened intently to try to listen for any clues or anyone greeting them by their name. Unfortunately I was stuck saying “Hiiii! How are ya?” every day. I would try to sing the “hi” to draw it out and not make it awkward. In the back of my mind I felt so fake. Why didn’t I introduce myself sooner?

Finally on Wednesday, at the end of lunch, I took a deep breath and did it.

“I’m embarrassed to say this, but I am just going to do it. I can’t believe I don’t know this, but what is your name?”

When she replied “Amy” I whispered and asked her for the other EdTech’s name. “Carol” she said. But as she was saying “Carol” I forgot her name! It was like my anxiety blacked out my memory! I started to panic when finally Amy came back into my brain. Amy Amy Amy I repeated to myself.

“and my name is Cindy by the way.” I replied.

Phew! I thought. I now know Carol and Amy, two great woman who do so much to help students in our school. It made me wonder, why is it so hard to ask for someone’s name? Why do I instantly forget a name when I’m introduced unless I am consciously repeating it to myself? Am I that self-absorbed?

 

5 thoughts on “SOL #11: Yikes, I don’t know her name!

  1. I can relate to this, Cindy. I’m especially bad at remembering names. Good for you for confronting the problem. Now you have two new friends on the faculty. Enjoy the rest of your first year!

    Like

  2. Love this! It’s so true and it happens a lot. There seems to be a window of opportunity where asking for one’s name is acceptable and after that, no longer acceptable. Good for you for asking!

    Like

  3. As I read this, I was reminded of a friendly parent who every time I’d see her, she’d say HI, I’m …and tell me her name. I loved how she honored the fact that as teachers we know so many people and I appreciated her telling me her name. I know will do this when I meet people. And it has helped because I so forget, just as you. I’m glad you just asked and remembered to say your name back!!

    Like

  4. Let me know if you ever find an answer to this: Why do I instantly forget a name when I’m introduced unless I am consciously repeating it to myself? Even when I consciously repeat it to myself, I still forget it. I have to write it down and then think of someone else with the same name OR come up with some way to relate them to their name before I can remember. However, you can’t really do that when you are just meeting someone. But, I have to admit, that it helps that there are others who wonder if they are THAT self-absorbed. Thanks for the post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

