It’s a Life Saver, not a Light Saber!

It was Teacher Appreciation Day and so far it was great! When the classroom door opened and the Vice Principal entered it got even better! He was there to cover my class for a few minutes while I helped myself to the coffee and snack cart in the hallway! I grabbed a white chocolate cherry scone (actually I don’t even recall what flavor it was! It was just so good!), coffee and some fruit. I excitedly hurried back to my classroom and munched on my treats and chatted with my students as we all had our snacks.

“Um, you have some raspberry on your shirt.” whispered a student.

“WHAT?!?! A raspberry stain on my new Sunshine Shirt! This shirt is supposed to bring the sunshine today! Nooooo!”

This student had a perplexed look on her face as I sprinted to my computer and typed an all-school email: Does anyone have a Tide Stick I can borrow? I have had a raspberry incident in room 123!” I paced around the classroom.

Within 5 minutes two Tide Sticks appeared, both brought by confused students. I got to work right away, dabbing at my yellow striped shirt. I could not end snack on time. Math would have to wait. Everyone was anxiously hoping the pink splotch would disappear.

After 5 minutes I led the class in a cheer “HOORAY!” we all exclaimed! The Tide Sticks prevailed and conquered that vicious raspberry.

An hour later as we headed down the hallway to recess, I carried my 2 Tide Sticks to return them to their owners. Swish! Swoosh! My immature-self pretended I was carrying my 2 Light Sabers down the hallway.

One student watched and said “No, actually those aren’t Light Sabers. They are Life Savers! Your shirt was saved!” My smile grew as we continued down the hallway.

 

Side-note: This slice was not sponsored by Tide. Also I dare you to say “Sunshine Shirt” out loud 5 times fast!

4 thoughts on “It’s a Life Saver, not a Light Saber!

  1. Can’t do it (Sunshine shirt). I tried.
    Great slice! I can see from your post that you have built a real community in your classroom. I love the “light saver” comment. Kids are always thinking, if we let them.

    Like

  2. What a great story.From your student’s comment, you have clearly taught them to love and play with language!!!
    P.S. I never thought of keeping a Tide stick at school. Thanks for that tip!

    Like

  3. Great slice, Cindy! I love the light saver comment and I can attest to your desperation when you were looking for a Tide stick.:) I bet their marketing gurus would love to get their hands on this story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

