When A Novel Takes Over

On Monday I was walking down the hallway at school toward the copy machine. Instead of thinking about upcoming lessons, I was deep in thought about what will happen next in the book I’m currently listening to. It is the first time I’ve listened to an audiobook and it has transformed my 30-minute commute.

I now look forward to my drive in the morning and in the afternoon, sometimes prolonging my time in the car to listen to a few more seconds. On Friday I couldn’t bear the thought of waiting until my commute on Monday to continue on with the story, so I checked the book out of the library.

I start with the audiobook and get 60 minutes a day, being hypnotized by the narrator’s Russian, English, German, and American accents. I add on another hour before bed with the paper version. Luckily the book is 988 pages and it is book 1 of a trilogy! It is such a gift! I’m only on disc 18! How often are we so transfixed with a novel?

In case you were wondering, the book is “The Fall of Giants” by Ken Follett. I’ve been meaning to read it for ages, but I was hesitant on making such a commitment.  I highly recommend it, even though it is about 1,000 pages. Just beware, if you start it, you won’t be able to stop.

One thought on “When A Novel Takes Over

Leave a Reply

