Saved!

Yesterday a large beetle joined our class for Reading Workshop. I actually noticed him 15 minutes before the kids did, but I chose not to mention it. As expected, yelling ensued and a crowd gathered to get a peek at this intruder.

“Let’s squish him!”

“Ahh!”

“Move over”

“Wait! Where did he go?”

I inched out of my chair from my conference table.

“Are you going to kill it?” asked the student who was sitting with me at the table.

I didn’t answer.

I slowly moved toward the cupboard above the sink. “Don’t worry, I’ll take care of it. Just head back to your book nooks!” The kids watched as I retrieved a paper cup and an index card from the cupboard.

“He went under the cubbies!” yelped a child.

Phew!

“Well it looks like Mr. Beetle will be joining us for reading today. Let’s get back to work.”

Then, I called a student up to me and whispered, “If you see the beetle, here’s what to do: Take this card and cup and trap him. We can use it to put him outside.” I put the cup on a table and turned around to get back to my reading conference.

5 minutes later out of the corner of my eye I see the student rise up with a cup in her hands. I nod toward the door and she disappears.

I am saved! Another day where I don’t have to face my fears!

One thought on “Saved!

  1. Phew! What’s up with all the beetles in the building anyway? I love how you empowered your student while managing to avoid disruption and personal beetle contact! So happy to see you slicing again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

