Watch Out for Apples

Toward the end of a 6-hour graduate class, I was hungry. I pulled out my apple and tried to bite it quietly. This is nearly impossible. Every CRUNCH seemed like I was screaming.We were in the middle of a heated discussion and I feel like I took larger bites to match the tempo of the dialogue. It was so juicy that it dripped onto my lap. I had to eat it fast. Clearly this was not the best snack for class.

As I was packing up, I felt a tap on my shoulder.

“Um… did you mean to eat the sticker?”

“What?” I answered.

“You know, the sticker on your apple. Did you know you ate it?”

Oh man! I can’t believe I didn’t look at what I was eating. It felt like the apple now laughed at me. “GOTCHA!” the apple taunted. At least it wasn’t a worm.

9 thoughts on “Watch Out for Apples

  1. Evening grad classes can seem like half of forever– especially when you’re hungry!

    Hilarious story, and I’m glad you had people with a good sense of humor around to make those evenings pass more quickly.

    Like

  2. I’m having an affinity to apples today and that is why I chose your post to read. Short and really funny! Great! It is also something I can imagine happeningn to me! I’ll be interested to know if you pick a quieter and sticker-less snack for next class! Thanks for the laugh!

    Like

Leave a Reply

