Beast Mode

I rummage in the closet for the heavy duty mittens and pull my boots on. I press the white button that wakes up the garage door and move into place. There are 3 red knobs to turn and a button to press 3 times. I grab the hook, inhale and pull. The beast roars to life.

I adjust one knob and my body. Then I coax her forward by pressing with my left hand. Eagerly I clamp down my right hand to let her begin devouring her food in my driveway. Up and back I lead her, and she’s insatiable. Along the edge of the street is the hardest, but she manages.

When I feel satisfied, I guide her back up to the garage. I turn only 1 red knob this time and she quiets, ready for sleep. I use a small shovel to give her insides a massage and then wheel her back to her resting place- hopefully for good.

 

7 thoughts on “Beast Mode

  1. Just love how you bring the snowblower to life! A small moment in time that just pulled me in! I hope your closing sentiments are truth. I am anxious for spring. I love the change of seasons, but really….enough is enough.

    Like

  2. I love the picture you paint with your word choice. Your piece is a wondeful example of personification. I hope you can use to teach this craft move to your students. I would love to see the drawings my 2nd graders would come up with after reading your piece. Well done!

    Like

Leave a comment