Comedy Show

Last night I went to see Trevor Noah perform. It was the first time I saw a professional comedy show live and it exceeded my expectations. It’s such a different experience than watching a comedy on Saturday Night Live or on Netflix.

The theater was packed. Almost every seat was full. We were surrounded by small giggles and giant belly laughs. You could look to your right and to your left and see that everyone was smiling. We clapped when something was funny or when we agreed with what Trevor was saying. We leaned in closer as he told us about a wacky trip to Bali or what it was like growing up in South Africa. We were all there together.

Your body feels different after an hour and a half of continuous laughter. You desperately need a glass of water, and your cheeks are sore. You try to remember the funniest moments and smile all over again.

It feels like a big hug.

11 thoughts on “Comedy Show

  1. Lucky you! Where? I love this line: “We were surrounded by small giggles and giant belly laughs.” and also how you talked about the audience as a whole–leaning in, clapping, etc. What a great experience. I’d love to see Trevor Noah and I’d also give a lot to see Paula Poundstone, too.
    By the way, have you read Noah’s memoir, Born a Crime? It’s fantastic and an amazing audiobook as well if you want to listen to it.

    Like

  2. I haven’t read it yet, but I’ve been on the hold list at the library for awhile! He is just amazing! I actually should have sliced about how it felt when he poked fun at Portland- such a weird experience because now I live here and have experienced his reactions as a visitor, but also have so much pride for my city!

    Like

  3. I fell in love with the same line that mbhmaine mentioned: We were surrounded by small giggles and giant belly laughs. What a great description. I also noticed the physical effects of laughter – which made me smile – and I like the final line. Man, would I love to see Trevor Noah live!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I really enjoyed this little slice–felt like I was right there being hugged by that laughter through your description and word choice. I highly recommend Noah’s book on audio–he reads it himself and it’s so good.

    Like

  5. That sounds wonderful! I listened to the audiobook Born A Crime since he narrated it, and in addition to the fascinating stories about cultural stuff, some were just hilarious. I can only imagine seeing him live, using timing, and the shared energy of a room full of laughter.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  6. Sounds wonderfully therapeutic! Such an amazing talent. I gained a whole new respect for stand up comedians after reading Tina Fey’s “Bossy Pants”. I listen to Trevor Noah’s podcast, “The Daily Show Ears Edition” every morning. I am insanely jealous that you got to see him in person, and so glad you loved it as much as you did!

    Like

Leave a comment