Snow Day Date

A few weeks ago my husband and I both stayed home because of the snow. It was a busy day for me filled with graduate school work and report cards. My husband, on the other hand, relaxed. When I have a lot of work to do I like to take frequent breaks. Occasionally I would pop into the other room to bother him and he would equally wander into our office to distract me.

Around 3:30, I looked out the window and saw that the plow still hadn’t come down our street. It was still perfect skiing weather! I told my husband I was going to take a ski and began to prepare. I changed into warm leggings, pulled on my extra thick socks, and tied my hair back to fit under my hat. I turned on my current audiobook and popped my ear buds in.

As I was tying my second boot, my husband appeared in the doorway. His lips were moving, but I couldn’t hear a thing.

“What did you say?” I said pulling out one of the headphones.

“I said, I’ll come with you.” He replied.

“Really?” I asked, completely shocked.

“Sure! Why not?”

Now this was a surprise! We got him used cross country skis, poles, and boots at a ski swap this fall although he hadn’t used them yet. It was the sweetest gesture for him to choose this day to be his first time skiing.

It didn’t matter that the wind was blowing so hard that it stung our cheeks or that we just went around the block. It was a perfect little date in the middle of our snow day.

6 thoughts on “Snow Day Date

Leave a comment