SOLC Day 12: The Subway Ride

“It’s time to go on the subway!”

“Yes!!” my son exclaimed.

We have been talking about this subway ride for weeks. We watched Youtube videos and read books from the library. My son couldn’t wait to ride on a train that goes underground. My daughter was equally excited and chanted “choo choo train” all morning.

Finally it was time for the first ever subway ride. We crossed Boylston Street and approached the elevator at Copley station.

“Can I press the button?” my son asks.

“Of course”

The glass walled elevator arrives and we shuffle in after the stroller. Down down down it goes and we can see the concrete rising as we slowing descend to the subway tunnels.

We emerge at the ticket machines and there is overwhelming noise. Sensory overload! There was the constant beeps of tickets. The whooshing of doors. The bells of incoming trains and the screech of the wheels on the tracks.

“I don’t like this. I am scared. I don’t want to go.” My son whispers.

“It’s ok to feel scared. This is new and it’s very noisy.” I said taking his hand.

I carried my son through the turnstile and we waited on the platform. I took a few steps forward to peek to my left to see if I could see an approaching train.

“NOOO MOMMY NOOO” my son screams, terrified I was going to fall into the tracks. I explained it is safe as long as I stay behind the yellow line at the edge of the platform. I took his little hand.

“Let’s take 2 steps together” We took a few tentative steps and there was the train. Coming nice and slowly. My son put his hands over his ears anticipating a loud horn.

Unfortunately it wasn’t the train we needed so we had to wait for two more trains to go by. The beauty of the wait was after each train, my son got more comfortable. By the last train, he took 2 steps forward to peek to the left on his own.

“Mommy! Our train is coming!” he announces to the platform “Here it comes”.

We climb aboard, all smiles.

2 thoughts on “SOLC Day 12: The Subway Ride

  1. You do such a nice job with the sensory details here. Beeps, whooshing, bells, and screeching. How overwhelming for a young child! And how wonderful that with your support, he grew more and more confident. I love getting these peeks into your interactions with your children! Great slice!

    Like

Leave a comment