SOLC Day 19: To Get or Not To Get Take-Out

I was in a rush to pick up groceries yesterday. It’s amazing that we were able to put our order in on Wednesday to pick up Friday at 5 so we won’t have to go to the grocery store over the weekend. After my bags were loaded in my car, I texted my husband,

“So do you want to get take out tonight?”

“YES! I’ll pick up Pats on my way home.., if you want that” he replied

“What about Thai?”

“Oh!”

“Or a burrito?”

“Bruce’s?”

“Hmmm”

“Ok, I’ll call you when I’m ready to leave in 20 min” he said.

It’s funny how even though I was physically in the grocery store parking lot, with a car filled with groceries, my mind was ready for some Friday vibes. Take-out has this celebratory ease. No cooking, no dishes, and there’s probably leftovers.

But when my husband called, we had excuses why each option wouldn’t work.

“That place is too expensive”

“The fries will get soggy by the time I get home”

“There is nothing there that the kids will eat.”

So we decided on just making rice bowls at home. No take out.

But as I was sauteeing the onions and peppers, my senses opened up and my mind relaxed. I poured a glass of red wine and took sips in between stirs and chops. I munched on some tortilla chips with mango salsa while I let our new rice cooker impress us all. We all sat down to dinner with a delicious meal that everyone ate. We made a great choice.

3 thoughts on “SOLC Day 19: To Get or Not To Get Take-Out

  1. I get it! We used to butcher our own steers, and then I would spend hours packing and labelling and then cleaning up. All that fresh meat went straight into the freezer and we had take-away for dinner every-single-time!

    Like

  2. Kurt and I had to meet up to sign some papers at the bank yesterday and we had a similar conversation in the parking lot. We also ended up going home and having leftovers. Food is so challenging–even more so when little ones are involved! I’m so glad you could relax toward the end and yay! for getting the grocery shopping done early.

    Like

Leave a comment