SOLC Day 9: A Breakfast Date

My husband and I had a rare breakfast date before work this morning. We went to a new bagel place that even had an “Order Online” option. We stood in our daycare parking lot and quickly scanned the menu. An everything bagel with cucumbers, capers, and tomatoes for me. Garlic and herb cream cheese, no onions. My husband got the same, but with Friday’s lavish smoked salmon.

We drove our own cars since we were headed our separate ways afterwards. We parked and walked inside the old mill building, holding hands. Our order was bagged and sitting on the counter as we approached and while the barista made my caramel cold brew, C snagged a seat overlooking the large courtyard.

We unwrapped our breakfast and I took a sip of my coffee. Our conversation of the preschool we just visited stopped and we devoured our bagels.

“Oh, hang on, you have cream cheese in your hair.” C said with his mouth full. He used a napkin and reached toward the hair above my right ear.

“Did you get it?” I asked after he made several attempts.

“Oh, it’s actually not cream cheese.” he whispered. He withdrew his hand and took another bite.

I rolled my eyes and and looked out the window. New silver hairs were appearing more and more.

When I turned back toward him, I smiled and said. “I don’t mind. At least I get to grow old with YOU.”

5 thoughts on “SOLC Day 9: A Breakfast Date

  1. Awwww, that’s the best response ever to the appearance of gray hairs. I’d rather be eating an everything bagel with someone I love when thinking about grays than anywhere else. You have a winner, and what a fabulous reminder that dates can happen anytime. 

    Like

  2. Well, if this isn’t romance, I don’t know what is! Thank you for this sweet and charming slice today.

    As for the grey hairs, those are BADGES of HONOR – earned, not given =))

    Like

Leave a comment