SOLC Day 17: Playdough to the Rescue

My arm hurts and it’s from computer use.

The pain starts in my pinky and ring finger. It goes up the back of my wrist. Sometimes I feel it in my elbow and in my upper shoulder. Today my finger tip felt numb. Not good.

I’ve tried using a computer mouse, a laptop raiser, standing, sitting, stretching, and stopping. Is it tendinitis, ulnar tunnel, or the dreaded carpal tunnel? I don’t know.

But after school I finally sat down with my daughter to make “ice cream” out of playdough. I took the squishy pink ball out of the yellow container and put it in my fist. I squeezed it and felt so much relief. I continued in between our completed ice cream sundaes. Squish, squish, squish. The opposite motion to typing and clicking. My own physical therapy session.

Playdough to the rescue!

8 thoughts on “SOLC Day 17: Playdough to the Rescue

  1. I love that playing with your daughter via playdoh offered you relief. My mom had numb fingers and just had carpal tunnel surgery. Her hand feels like new now. No numbness at all and the out patient surgery was so quick and easy! Do take time to schedule an appointment for yourself to see what a doctor recommends. And in the meantime, keep playing with playdoh!!

    Like

  2. Playdough is great on so many levels! I love the creativity and imagination that seem to explode when the mushy little balls come out. It is one of those toys that has stood the test of time for good reason. Plus as you found it is physical therapy along with fun.

    Like

  3. I bet many ailments can be cured if we all just hang out with a kid and act like them! Glad playdough did the trick — much cheaper and fun than any doctor visit!

    Like

  4. I had to stop by, seeing your title – because playdoh was my go-to rescue when my kids were little and I needed it to be a quiet, peaceful time. 🙂 I love that playdoh, and playing in general was the rescue you needed!

    Like

  5. Your title totally set me up to expect something different, in the best possible way! I’m sorry you’re having computer-related arm pain, but glad you found some temporary relief. This sounds like one of those thing you need to pay some attention to, but fingers crossed that the playdoh tune-up was all you needed!

    Like

Leave a comment