The Trifecta

There are 3 things that are needed in a weekend: Fun, Productivity, and Rest. Usually a weekend holds only 2 out of 3 of these things. Lately it seems like only one thing dominates my weekends.

Since we moved to Maine a year and a half ago, we are further from our family and friends. We have to make plans that usually take up the whole weekend. These weekend trips are so much fun. Sometimes it is the 5 hour drive to visit Joe and Lindsay in New York, the 3 ½ hour drive to my parents, or just the short 2 hour drive back to Boston. These weekend are FUN, but are not typically restful and definitely not productive.

Some of my weekends are incredibly productive. When I am training for a marathon, the long runs seem to take up all of my weekend time. 20 mile run? Ok, well I better carve out 3 ½ hours! I’m also taking 2 graduate classes and my school is a 1 ½ hour drive. It is exhausting but incredibly productive. Fun? Well not the word I would use.

Finally there are the restful weekends. My husband has to work many weekends and sometimes I find myself alone. These are usually peaceful, quiet weekends full of exploring new places and Netflix. These are definitely not too productive, and would be more fun with a buddy.

What we all really need is the trifecta, or simply, a 3-day weekend with 1 day dedicated to each of the 3 essential things: fun, productivity, and rest. Moving to a new place offsets the balance of these things and it takes time to put it all back together.

I was lucky enough to have a 3-day weekend. It was glorious because I finally experienced the trifecta! With new Maine friends we didn’t have to travel far which gave me a productive morning and a fun evening. My sister met us half way between Boston and Portland, which gave us fun and rest on Sunday. The list goes on.

 

Wishing you get the experience a trifecta weekend soon!

3 thoughts on “The Trifecta

  1. I love the idea of trifectas for weekends. And I couldn’t agree more that a three day weekend makes the trifecta seem very do-able. I think I hit two out of three this weekend.

    Like

  2. I’m currently training for a half-marathon myself, so while it doesn’t compare to a marathon training schedule, finding the time for those long runs can be challenging for sure. I love your three words of rest, productivity, and fun. Rest is something I need to be better at on the weekends, but usually find the need for productivity of the all the things to get caught up on fills the time. 😉 Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. You found a name for it! We always say when there is a 3 day weekend that one day is for chores, one for school/work work, and one for play. Trifecta! Have you explored Portsmouth? A nice day out from the Portland area. Or check out the islands of Casco Bay. My dad grew up on Peaks. One of my favorite things to do is the “Mail Boat Run,” the mail ferry that island hops. You can bring a picnic lunch and never get off. Have fun exploring!

    Like

Leave a comment