Poetry Writing

Yesterday was the 2nd day of our poetry unit. I love teaching poetry. It allows kids write without any rules and pushes them to think with “poet’s eyes.” As the kids were writing independently, I circulated to give support, encouragement, and inspiration. Why not make up my own poems too?

When T asked for a band aid so that he would stop itching his nose, I answered with:

Band-Aid Band-Aid

On my nose

Will It help?

No one knows!

 

After I said it out loud I paused and scanned the room. Luckily a few kids chuckled at my witty pun!

Am I having too much fun?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Poetry Writing

  1. I love how you’re modeling the fun of word play! I have a student who loves to point out my unintentional rhymes, so I’ve started to be more intentional about creating them. It’s fun to see if he notices. What can I say? It adds zest to the day! 😉

    Like

Leave a comment