Around and Around and Around

Yesterday I got home from school in the daylight. The sun was shining and it was a balmy 42 degrees! I put my school bag and lunch box inside and walked to the mailbox. I didn’t need to go for a run since I worked out in the morning morning, but I wanted to stay out in the sun. Out of the corner of my left eye I saw our lilac tree still covered in Christmas lights.

The snow had finally melted around the tree and there was no more excuse to avoid this chore. I put my gloves on and started at one plug and followed it, like a dog on a leash around and around and around. I was proud of our light display on this bush. We wrapped the lights around the branches to make the entire tree glow.

It’s such a different experience putting up the Christmas lights. It’s early December and there is the exciting snow smell in the air. We had just decorated the inside of our house and the smell of fresh pine dominated. The outdoor lights became a sign that cheered to the neighborhood, “Yep! We’re ready for the holidays!”

Now as I went around and around and around the delicate branches I wasn’t feeling particularly excited. It could have been because the branches poked my eyes, or the lights kept on getting stuck, or my hands started to get numb.

After the 4th string of lights I saw that there was only 1 remaining. You can do it, I whispered to myself. With 12 to 18” of snow coming on Thursday, our lilac tree will be covered once again. I guess Spring will make us wait a while longer.

7 thoughts on “Around and Around and Around

  1. I like how you found this slice in your afternoon. I especially like how the moment sparked memories of what it was like when you put up the lights and then your comparison to what it felt like taking them down. There are lots of comparable moments (setting up a classroom vs. packing it up, packing for a trip vs. unpacking, etc.) that could serve as inspiration for slices. On another note, here’s hoping we have a lovely deep snowfall and snow day! Fingers crossed!

    Like

  2. There is a magic in December as the holidays approach. Taking down those decorations certainly doesn’t provide the same magic. Know spring is on the way, even with the new snow, provides hope. Soon the smell of lilacs will be beckoning in a new season.

    Like

  3. Taking down Christmas lights is the WORST! You hit it right on when you juxtaposed the excitement of December decorating to the dread of the spring removal. It’s what we all fell. Great slice!

    Like

  4. Such a great piece! A reminder to me that I have about 25 “snow people” still sitting on the long hall table and a Christmas “moose” that has blinking lights decorating his antlers in the diningroom. I love decorating for the holidays, too. You captured the feelings – the excitement and glow! And yes, I feel the same way when it is time to take everything down – tedious, boring, even a little sad. I wish I had put my snow people away end February. I think they are working some sort of magic and bringing on winter’s last hurrah!

    Like

  5. This made me laugh! In December I always buy the newest, best, greatest storage systems thinking it will make the clean up that much easier. Then, come January or February I’m so done with the decorations I just ended up stuffing them in boxes while my lovely storage systems just sit looking at me!

    Like

  6. Ha! We JUST took our Christmas lights down too!
    My 2yo son loved-loved-loved the holiday lights, but was admitted into the hospital for 10 days, and when we returned from the hospital, all he wanted to do was look at our “twinkul yights”. I didn’t have the heart to take them down, until our neighbor jokingly asked what was going on! Whoops!

    (We did leave a few extras up for the 2yo. They’re gonnna stay up alllll year!!)

    Like

Leave a comment