SOLC Day 21: The Cookie

The PTA graciously provided snacks for teachers since it is conference week. At lunchtime yesterday, a few others were raving about chocolate chip cookies. They were large with the chocolate chunks sticking out. I couldn’t resist so I folded one into a paper towel and slipped it into my outer lunchbox pocket for an afternoon treat.

Much later when I was carrying my backpack and lunchbox inside my house, I remembered my uneaten cookie.

“Hey everyone!” I called out as I entered the house. “I have a treat for you!” My son was home sick so I figured it would be a nice surprise.

“YAY!!” my son and daughter squealed as they ran up to hug my knees. “What is it?”

“It starts with the letter C” I said.

My son stared at me, thinking hard.

“Is it a cupcake?” my husband asked.

I unwrap a little of the paper towel and my son yells “it’s a cookie!!”

We waited until everyone finished dinner. I took out the cookie and broke it in half. I put one half back into the paper towel and broke the other half into half again to give to the kids.

“Mmmmmmm” they said.

After a few moments, the cookie pieces were gone and my daughter looked down at the table and sobbed. Full water works, red face, and high pitched wails. The cookie was all gone.

My son went up to her and said, “oh no, you’re sad. When you’re sad you should think about something that makes you happy.”

“Great idea” I said, “What makes you happy?” I asked her.

She picked her head off of my red shirt, looked at me carefully, and said, “red.”

“What makes you happy?” I asked my son.

“Blue and green” he said.

“Ice cream makes me happy” I added.

“and rainbows” he said.

“and cookies!” I said.

4 thoughts on “SOLC Day 21: The Cookie

  1. How wonderful that your son worked to help your daughter learn a strategy to help manage her big feelings. I could have used his advice with a teary fifth grader today.

    Like

  2. There are wonderful details that allow us to picture the scene so well. When we hear that they hug your knees we can begin to guess an age range. Then once the cookie appears and is divided up, their reactions to what happens after their treats are gone fill in a few more blanks.

    Like

  3. I just love Ethan’s advice–so sweet– and can totally empathize with Annie’s wails. I also agree with another commenter that my cookie probably wouldn’t have made it home!

    Like

Leave a comment