House Projects

Over the weekend we made yet another trip to our Home Depot to get a few new light switches. We were heading toward the check out when my husband took a sharp left turn into the light section.

“Hey, why are you going down there?” I asked.

“Oh, I was thinking of adding a recessed light. You know, above the corner of the counter?”

“Oh. You mean making a whole in the ceiling?” I asked.

“Yeah. Don’t you trust me?” He smiled.

15 minutes later, and after learning a lot about recessed lights, we made our way to the check out and headed home.

The next afternoon a sense of dread came over me as I pulled into the driveway. He had the whole day off to work on house projects. I pictured our kitchen. Oh man! There’s got to be a giant hole in the ceiling with wires coming down. I bet there is white dust everywhere. I bet he’s not even in the kitchen anymore and is on his computer in the other room. Ugh what a mess! 

I parked in the garage and slowly got out of my car.

Ok, don’t panic. Be supportive.

As I walked up the steps, a delicious savory smell filled my nose. I slowly turned the door knob and peeked inside.

The kitchen was immaculate and lentil soup was simmering on the stove. I looked up at the ceiling and sure enough, there was our new recessed light, perfectly installed.

My husband gets the gold star!

4 thoughts on “House Projects

  1. I was worried for a bit! I love your question: “You mean making a hole in the ceiling?” lol I can totally relate to your feeling of dread, which you expressed so nicely with your internal dialogue. My husband is the master of collateral damage. Soup and a beautifully installed recessed light!? Your husband definitely gets the gold star!

    Like

Leave a comment